Invision Going Downhill

AshieF73

I have been using Invision software now for over 10 years for my community, and in that time the level of service as declined in the last 3 or 4 years. I now feel this latest issue is a step too far, and I don't think I am being unreasonable to expect more from the software provider, afterall, you have made hundreds of pounds off me in the years I have been a customer.

After looking at my site via Google today after a user highlighted something to me, I noticed that our domain was being listed by Google as being compromised. When I looked further, it seems somehow a Russian website was being hosted from within the forum software via 'lofiversion/board' and since December too!

I did add the security patch back in December when it was released, but looking on the forums it is clear this was a much bigger issue that IPB seem to have been reporting. Also, the patch was no good if the website had already been breached.

Surely that little fact should have been emailed to all customer, or made clearly visible within the ACP. All I saw in the ACP was a warning to instal the patch.

The other issue is the fact that thew new, and horrible quote clearly makes filtered out abusive swear words visible when a user hits reply, yet Invision don't think this is that serious and have suggested we have to wait until the next upgrade.

So my advice is firstly to all users - check your own forums domain via Google, and check to make sure no dodgy .cgi or php appear in your root, and within other folders.

Sadly for me, I have a popular and large community, and little time, otherwise I would be switching to an alternative supplier quicksmart, but for now, I will look at my options, and move away from Invision if I can find a better option. Not so much because I don't like the software, but mainly because I feel let down by them and their decline in service over recent years.

• Replies 209
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Management