Leaving community after 18 years :(

Elon Report

I've been using IPB since 2006 with the MSSQL driver.   I was always attracted to the flexibility of the platform with minimal programming.

Recently tech support has become more difficult.  It's harder to find code examples and removing the marketplace killed a creativity source for me.   I had a stroke a few years ago, so my development skills are retarded, but still I believe this is one of the poorer organized forms in regards to technical documentation.

A wiki, kept up to date by your community, would really help in development IMHO.

Good luck all!

Martin

On 11/12/2023 at 6:58 PM, MartinLawrence said:

I've been using IPB since 2006 with the MSSQL driver.   I was always attracted to the flexibility of the platform with minimal programming.

Recently tech support has become more difficult.  It's harder to find code examples and removing the marketplace killed a creativity source for me.   I had a stroke a few years ago, so my development skills are retarded, but still I believe this is one of the poorer organized forms in regards to technical documentation.

A wiki, kept up to date by your community, would really help in development IMHO.

Good luck all!

Martin

Hi Martin, 

I've really attempted to use IPS for my big gaming community but honestly, at this point, I have to agree. IPS seems to be moving to appeal to corporate websites with things like (courses) instead of focusing on what other forum sites do. It seems that awesome features I loved are being removed like the integrated support system and more. With the marketplace being removed it is removing a good and awesome opportunity for developers to make money. I am going to start to begin to move to another forum site.