Mass Deletion of Spam Accounts

Go to solution Solved by Jim M,

Hi,

I need to delete a huge number of spam accounts. At our old website, they were contained with some unique measures. But I now have to deal with them at IPS.

I intend to delete all zero-post accounts older than six months. But before I do this, I wish to double-check my settings. I am new to IPS - I need to be sure of not messing this up!

I assume that I:

1. Ignore everything above the 'Joined' parameter
  2. Select a suitable date range in 'Joined'
  3. Posts: Exactly | 0
  4. 'Allow bulk emails?' Do I set this to 'either'?

I then ignored the 'Converter' section.

Then 'Search'

I assume I now select 'Prune all members found' - yes?

I just need someone from the team here to confirm my parameters 1-4 before I prune the accounts.

Oh. And is there a upper limit of accounts I should 'prune' in one go (in Cloud)?

Thanks.

1 hour ago, Como said:
  • Ignore everything above the 'Joined' parameter
  • Select a suitable date range in 'Joined'
  • 'Allow bulk emails?' Do I set this to 'either'?

You would just need to set the join date range you wish to have and posts exactly 0. The other settings are not needed if that is only what you want to search by. Yes, leave bulk emails on either because that would make this independent of their selection there.

1 hour ago, Como said:

I then ignored the 'Converter' section.

Keep in mind if you're under the "All" section, this would include all users.

1 hour ago, Como said:

But I think I'll wait for a nod from one of the IPS team. I am a bit hesitant about deleting thousands of accounts. It seems straightforward enough, but me being new to this system, I just wish to be 100% certain.

A word of advice, if I may. Don't forget to make first a full and thorough backup of the database before you make edits to it, or modify it. Like that you can always roll back if things will not go as planned.

Edited by Miss_B

Hi Jim,