Speeding Up Loading Times

A lot of people on a forum I'm on that recently switched to IPB are complaining that the forum is much slower now since switching from vB to IPB. I noticed it is a bit sluggish as well, but only by a second or two. There are a LOT of members, and millions of posts. No one will sacrifice pruning forums because they know they will lose their "precious post count." Any ideas for speeding up the forum, for someone who is no good with MySQL editing?

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I hope so. My site that recently upgraded to version 3.1.1 is loading topics and posts rather slowly for some reason. Right when it gets to the top of the "Share this topic:" section, it stops for multiple seconds and loads the rest. :|

• 3 months later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Introduction

My site is: http://www.cyclechat.net - and I moved to IPB in July this year. Since then have been working to try and improve the speed of my site.

I'm no expert, and you may well need to look up some of this information and get a more technically minded person to properly install/configure it for you. I've managed to cobble it together for my own site, but everyone's set-up is different, so don't take my offerings as verbatim solutions.

I'm on a dedicated server that I manage on a day-to-day basis, but I'm by no means technically knowledgeable and learn / know enough to get by, and scavenge on a need-to-know basis as new stuff comes up. I'm therefore going to assume you have a similar basic knowledge and know how to use "top" to check your server load, and can download (wget) install, and run /mysqltuner.pl and /tuning-primer.sh

Also, I can't take much credit for any of this because it was either advised directly by IPS staff / community members; picked-up from various helpful web sites; or gleaned from other forums.