Real Time Update?

Schemata

So I had an idea. What if (maybe a feature down the road) you included live update.

What I mean by this is, when someone posts a new topic it INSTANTLY appears under the last post (if you are currently viewing the post).

Similar to what facebook has, it refreshes every so often and if you just sit at your home page for a minute, it will slide down and show "2 new posts"

What if it instantly slid down to show the new post instead of refreshing. I think this would help cut down on "Edit: Johnny beat me to it, 2 seconds before me"

Any ideas on how this might work? I am not a coder, but I am guessing something like Javascript or JQuery?

It's doable from a programming perspective. The problem is resources. Software as big as IPB is can be resource heavy at times already, and having it query the script every 2 seconds or 5 seconds or whatever to see if there are new posts would multiply the resource usage exponentially.

It's doable from a programming perspective. The problem is resources. Software as big as IPB is can be resource heavy at times already, and having it query the script every 2 seconds or 5 seconds or whatever to see if there are new posts would multiply the resource usage exponentially.

When you say resources are you just talking Bandwith?

I think speed is a big + for everyone, I think features like this would cause more people to report "slow site" bugs than anything else, and when you browse the forum or refresh the page you get the new posts immediately.

But I want to make it so you don't have to refresh. If you are in the middle of a post, you can't refresh the page without losing your post content.

Overall, I think it is a cool idea. I don't know how many "resources" facebook uses, but maybe this can be an option later on down the road if IPB ever get's it's resource fat trimmed. :)

Thanks guys