Do links with commas work?

DiskusjonNO

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

At first we parsed urls with commas in them.

Then someone submitted a bug report that the following incorrectly parsed

I went to http://google.com,and it was great

Unfortunately, the software cannot read minds and know exactly what you're trying to do. If you use the url tag, it works correctly. Otherwise, it's a little conservative for the reason posted above. If we autoparsed commas, you wouldn't be able to post the above sentence properly at all. With the current parsing method, you can have commas parsed or unparsed.

Unfortunately, the software cannot read minds and know exactly what you're trying to do.

I am not a programmer, I barely get some shell scripting down, so maybe I am off base here, but a parsing routine a bit like this should work, no?

It relies on the assumption that a comma appearing with the domain is faulty, but commas appearing behing the TLD / the third slash would indeed be part of the URL.

Parse for type of URL to determine service ('http', 'https', 'mailto', 'ftp', ...). Then parse the domain and see if there if you find a) either a TLD or b) another "/". If it indeed ends with a TLD and then a comma or something else, unexpected like in the (probably once in a million occurence) example you could even fix that and fix the output.

(Additionally, you could check if the link is an internal link (linking to some other thread on the forum) and maybe just set it up as a relative link within the site, this would have the additional benefit of not breaking those links when a forum changes domain.)

If there is a slash behind the TLD and more characters to the URL it is pretty safe to assume that the commas embedded are part of the link and should be parsed accordingly.