Migration to new server and new IPB version

Hi all,

I'm new with IPB, I'm taking over an old forum running on IPB 4.2.5 version. I purchased a licence to get the forum an do the migration to the latest stable version on a new VPS.

I follow "How To" to moving to new server

But, I don't know why, when I try to launch the old IPB version (with the old database, of course) on my new VPS, I have a HTTP Error 500 code. When I try to launch the last version of IPB on my new IPS, it's works fine.

There is my configuration of my new VPS :

DB : MySQL 8.0.32

Webserver : 2.4.53 (I tried with nginx 1.20.1 too, same problem)

PHP 8.0.30

And the old VPS :

DB : MySQL 5.7.33

Webserver : Nginx 1.10.3

PHP 7.0.33

Could the big differences in versions explain this error ? I've looked at the logs, but can't find any clues.

Thank you for your help

Thanks for your answer.

So, if I understood, I have to do :

• The manual upgrade to my old VPS (with the latest package IPB 4.7.13)
  • Export DB upgraded from my old VPS and transfer it to my new VPS

But my subscription on my old VPS is different of my subscription on my new VPS. How can I to this with two differents subscriptions ? I need to reset my licensed URL ?

You would need to do the upgrade on your new VPS as the minimum PHP requirement is PHP 8 for the latest release. You do not need the software in working order and frankly, I don't think you will be able to because you're in this mismatch zone of your old VPS being too old for the new version of our software and your new VPS being too new for the old version of our software that you're currently running. So it will just be a jump where you move your files/database over, then perform the manual upgrade on that.

I'm not sure to understand the last sentence : How can I do the upgrade if th web interface doesn't work with PHP 8 ?

I transfered my DB and to my new VPS with the latest IPB version and I tried to reach http://myurl/admin/upgrade but I have this error :