Jump to content

upgrade notification


Jelly Belly™

Recommended Posts

On 3/15/2017 at 5:44 AM, Jelly Belly™ said:

is there any way to disable it from every forum page or at least hide it ?
I appreciate the notification but I only need to see it once and there is also a reminder on the dashboard in acp

You can dismiss normal upgrade notifications but you cannot dismiss Security upgrade notifications.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

42 minutes ago, JakubS said:

@Aiwa You can do literally everything with a plugin :)

I'm uploading plugin to marketplace, as soon as it gets approved I will post here link and you can downgrade your forums(which I do not recommend, only on test forums) and check yourself. ^_^

I'm well aware of that and I wasn't speaking to you.  I was telling the OP why he couldn't dismiss this particular upgrade notification, because it includes a security fix.

Normal, non security related, upgrade notifications can be dismissed.

Just because you can do something, doesn't mean you should.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Aiwa said:

I'm well aware of that and I wasn't speaking to you.  I was telling the OP why he couldn't dismiss this particular upgrade notification, because it includes a security fix.

But if you disable this information on forums, there is still an information in your ACP so...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, JakubS said:

But if you disable this information on forums, there is still an information in your ACP so...

I'm well aware of that, and it includes more information as well.  But how many people visit their ACP on a regular basis?  That's why IPS put the notifications on the front end because admins were missing upgrade notifications because they didn't log into their ACP with any frequency.  

3 minutes ago, Aiwa said:

Just because you can do something, doesn't mean you should.

Don't get me wrong... I'm not saying your plugin is bad or anything, I'm just saying there is a reason things were done.  Nullifying enhancements made for the benefit and security of a community isn't something that should be treated lightly.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nullifying? Well, now I'm aware that you don't understand that my plugin only removes upgrade information showing on front side(forums) not everywhere, I'm not saying that everyone needs to install this plugin, I'm just helping out for those, who want to disable this information.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, JakubS said:

Nullifying? Well, now I'm aware that you don't understand that my plugin only removes upgrade information showing on front side(forums) not everywhere, I'm not saying that everyone needs to install this plugin, I'm just helping out for those, who want to disable this information.

We've said multiple times before that we're not going to assist removing security upgrade notices. It's there for a reason and shouldn't be removed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Stuart Silvester said:

We've said multiple times before that we're not going to assist removing security upgrade notices.

That's why i've wrote a plugin for that, and I'm saying this 4th time, my plugin does not remove security update information or even normal update information in ACP.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

50 minutes ago, JakubS said:

Nullifying? Well, now I'm aware that you don't understand that my plugin only removes upgrade information showing on front side(forums) not everywhere, I'm not saying that everyone needs to install this plugin, I'm just helping out for those, who want to disable this information.

:facepalm:  I know exactly what you're doing.  You're removing a feature from the front-end.  I never said anything about you taking it off the ACP.  I thought my post was quite clear that admins don't log into the ACP with much frequency, and would miss the notification in the ACP if it was removed from the front-end, what your plugin is doing... 

You are in-fact invalidating or cancelling out a feature that exists on the front-end.  i.e. Nullifying.  

58cac4b4521dd_nullify-GoogleSearch-GoogleChrome2017-03-1611_59_41.png.52853430c9a7429e7a40fa26f8625e93.png

Do what you want to do... No one will stop you from creating the plugin... IPS may stop you from putting it in the MP, though.  And you're not going to win this argument.  

Coming from someone that used to work IPS support back in the 3.x days... There were countless tickets where users missed both upgrades as well as security updates all the time because they either didn't log into their ACP with any frequency and didn't check the IPS news announcements about security upgrades. IPS did something about it by putting the information in the admins face on the front-end of their site that is indeed only visible to admins.  

Just 'Let it Go'(tm)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, JakubS said:

So in that case i will add an notification for admins that there is new security update. Problem solved.

That can't be dismissed?

You seem to be completely glossing over what we're saying, how the feature works, and most importantly, WHY it works like it does 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Same stuff, over and over and over again...

Please, next time you don't want to upgrade, tell your members that you don't want to protect their accounts, their information, and personal details, because your to damn lazy. Tell them you want to risk the site being hacked, and you couldn't give a faecese. :mad:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Dean_ said:

Same stuff, over and over and over again...

Please, next time you don't want to upgrade, tell your members that you don't want to protect their accounts, their information, and personal details, because your to damn lazy. Tell them you want to risk the site being hacked, and you couldn't give a faecese. :mad:

there are some people that doesn't have time to do upgrade on the same day the upgrade got released so they want this message to be disabled, don't You understand it?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, JakubS said:

there are some people that doesn't have time to do upgrade on the same day the upgrade got released so they want this message to be disabled, don't You understand it?

Yes, we understand.  Then the notification should be there form them the next day when they upgrade.  You're just not understanding us and the importance of the notification... 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Management

You need to upgrade to remove the notice. In most circumstances, it takes less than 5 minutes. We're not going to prohibit removing the warning, but we're certainly not going to discuss it here nor allow a plugin to be promoted that puts convenience over security. Sorry.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...