Changing site name from .net to .com

KentT

I have been running IPS v4 for several months on my test site, i.e. www.example.net

I am now ready to take that test site live and I want to change it to the "production URL" of .www.example.com -- I've used that URL for almost 18 years and do not want to change it, similar to keeping an old cell phone number when you get a new phone. Meanwhile, I have unlocked the test site, with a link to it for the users, who are learning how to navigate it and use it.  I've simply locked down the old site and left a link pointing to the new one.

What actions do I need to take in IPS to make this change, other than the simple DNS stuff to point to it.  (I realize that I also need to update my records with IPS to show this new URL address for updates, etc). What concerns me is all the internal workings of the site that have been using the .NET address. I don't want to break the site as I try to really go live...

Alternatively, I'm perfectly willing to "pay a pro" to do whatever is needed to make this happen.

TIA...

1 hour ago, KentT said:

I have been running IPS v4 for several months on my test site, i.e. www.example.net

I am now ready to take that test site live and I want to change it to the "production URL" of .www.example.com -- I've used that URL for almost 18 years and do not want to change it, similar to keeping an old cell phone number when you get a new phone. Meanwhile, I have unlocked the test site, with a link to it for the users, who are learning how to navigate it and use it.  I've simply locked down the old site and left a link pointing to the new one.