new to reputation, looking for advice and clarification

raincat

Hi there.  This is partly technical support and partly a request for general advice, so I put it in here, hope that'll work.

Is there some sort of guide or a thread in here that informatively discusses reputation?  I don't mean formatting or a technical glitch, just using it in general.  I've done several searches, but am not coming up with anything super helpful.  

Basically, it seems like a cool concept that could be very helpful and I THINK I'd like to use it, but it's become clear to me that I don't understand it fully.  I've never used it before in a live forum, could do so in the near future after I finish upgrading, but feel uncomfy doing that when I don't really know what's happening.  I'd rather go in with some clear ideas.

And I imagine I don't know what's happening in part because I don't know what it's doing in HERE.

So next to my username in here, it says my reputation is a plus 6.  But when you click on that and go to my profile under reputation, it just says, "There's nothing here yet."

While I do appreciate the positive numeral in theory, I'm now curious how that happened, not so much for this forum, just for future reference for my own forum.

And while I suspect this is now getting too long for anyone to bother answering, I'd also really appreciate any advice on the positive/negative thing I see in the ACP, or . . . using that, how that tends to go for others.  

ANY general advice would be appreciated, but specifically I was wondering about the negative thing.  Including the ability to rank negatively as well as positively would be a lot more informative, sure, but it also seems like the sort of thing that could provoke hostility or a hostile defensive response, etc.