Renewing an expired subscription product

Go to solution Solved by Jim M,

This is strange. I have a subscription product (regular product with a renewal term) that is expired. When I click to renew it, a box appears asking how many months I want to renew it for? I want the customer to be charged month after month unless they cancel their plan.

Could contain: Text, Computer Hardware, Hardware, Electronics, Monitor, Screen

I definitely don't want the default to just charge them one month.

I set the term to three months and pressed continue:

Could contain: Mobile Phone, Phone, Electronics, Text

Will the customer be automatically charge on March 11, and every month after?

• Solution
12 minutes ago, Interferon said:

But renewals will continue to be charged automatically, unless the user cancels? The user won't have to continue manually renewing their subscription?

Renewals always happen unless a user cancels or it expires. Automatic payment would only happen if the user has a payment method on file that is capable of automatic payment. 

• 1 month later...

Why do subscriptions expire on products can you clarify?  I have a group of memberships and no invoice is made, and then I lose the customer or they email me and ask why they lost access.  Is it set by the grace period when I make a product?  I never want the purchase to expire unless they cancel.  Can you lend some insight, please?  How can this be changed?

Thanks

KS

Could contain: Page, Text

28 minutes ago, Keith Smith_105067 said:

Why do subscriptions expire on products can you clarify?  I have a group of memberships and no invoice is made, and then I lose the customer or they email me and ask why they lost access.  Is it set by the grace period when I make a product?  I never want the purchase to expire unless they cancel.  Can you lend some insight, please?  How can this be changed?

Thanks

KS

Could contain: Page, Text