Self Teaching

Guest Lee Craven

For those of you who are skinning freaks, I'm wanting a helping hand, I have very little knowledge of skinning on IPB's - What I'm wanting to know is where the heck can I learn it 'fast' - by that I mean, is anyone willing to throw tutorials out there? Like an SDK with a write up? - I don't understand what WEB 2 is at all, and I see all over now 'Our site uses we 2 graphics' - or 'get your web 2 themes here' - What the heck is it? :lol:

Sorry, I'm just clueless, I've been cutting and pasting code since ipb 2.x.x - been a few years now, and I would love to make skins and give back to the community for all the crap I've taken for free. Also I would love to learn PHP & SQL in depth and make mods yet I cannot read books to save my life (not that I can't read and write, I lose interest quickly unless I'm seeing progress), I have to be 'hands on' - If I'm physically doing it I'm learning if that makes sense, whats a good time frame to learning these 2 key things?

I'm pretty clueless about skinning too. I've changed some thigns around, but not made my own CSS changes.

And just a few minutes ago I got so FRUSTRATED it just really can't even be overstated how frustrated I was. i have spent countless hours programming to make some thigns and get them ready for IPB 3 and now that I have "most" of the coding done after an unbelievable number of hours working, I can't get it to "look" like something I can be satisfied with.

In my case I have so much information it's hard to fit it on the screen and yet then in other areas there are huge gaps in rows which don't have many columns necessary. I think things look "ok" on mst pages, but one of the main page types.... I just don't know what to do with it.

So yeah... I wouldn't mind learning some skinning also. Although in my case it's more that I'm unsure what to do even if I did know how to accomplish anything.