Updating for the first time as Admin

Go to solution Solved by Marc Stridgen,

Hi gang...

I've only recently become Admin of our Invision forum site.  I'm pretty new to all this and and still uncertain about a lot of stuff, but am learning things quickly.

However, I see that an update is available to v4.7.10.  We're currently running v4.7.9, and everything is running fine.

I'll be honest -- I am terrified to hit that "upgrade now" button for fear that everything will come crashing down and I won't know what to do.  I've searched, but can't seem to find a walk-through of the process here in the posts.

I could definitely use a link to a walk-through or set of updating tips or, for that matter, even some encouraging words. <g> 

Thanks,

A.J.

1 hour ago, Garrison 501 said:

I'll be honest -- I am terrified to hit that "upgrade now" button for fear that everything will come crashing down and I won't know what to do.  I've searched, but can't seem to find a walk-through of the process here in the posts.

Upgrading Ipb is very easy and straightforward. Make sure to make a backup of your database and forum files too beforehand. Like that you can always roll back should you need to. Regarding the upgrade process have a look at the Automatic and Manual Upgrade sections at the following guide.

Edited by Miss_B

I appreciate your reply, Miss_B, and thanks for that link.  I'll take a close look at everything there.

I should note that I am an absolute beginner at this, and was kind of just dropped into the position, so I'm really feeling my way around.  (For example, I have no idea how to back up database and forum files.  None at all.  The link you sent looks extremely comprehensive, so I may find info there on how to do it.)

Again, thanks for your help!

A.J.

2 hours ago, Adlago said:

It's the same as being handed the key to a BMW, and you don't have a driver's license, and you ask - how do you drive a car?😀

Yeah, it's pretty much like that.  <g>