VPS Resources Needed?

My site (linked in my signature) was pushing up on resource limits on my current shared hosting during the peak for the site (towards the end of the football season for the club my site is about).

I expect we could see potentially double the amount of people on the site by the end of the year, so I'm hoping to requisition the resources for this level of peak load. We've crashed in the past on the original host I was on (which forces a move to my current host) and I want to avoid any crash happening as we're sponsored and wouldn't want to cause issues with them or lose potential ad revenue.

Our CPU usage has always been high (on a shared 'VIP' hosting with shares in a 4 CPU host server) while our memory usage has rarely hit over 1gb.

There's a VPS provider I've been looking at for a while, and they have a special on their Cpanel CentOS managed VPS' services. Note, I have zero knowledge of running servers so unless you can memory jack server administration into my head in the next few weeks then I doubt I can run it myself.

If we had:

5k members.

1000 online (over 15 minutes) at peak.

350k posts

And we use Content, Board and Nexus what sort of VPS should I be looking at? The only things in their plans that I have to worry about are CPU and Ram. The rest is well over what I'd need even in my wildest dreams right now.

They have a variety of options but the options I was looking at are:

#1 - Two CPU Cores (2.2ghz), 2GB Ram.

#2 - Three CPU Cores (2.2ghz), 4gb Ram.

And then a number of options using either of those two options, but adding extra CPU cores which would result in a highest potential option of 4gb Ram and 8 VPS Cores.

Is 4gb ram enough? 2gb enough? 4 CPU cores? 5? 6? 8?

Obviously I'd want to minimise costs but also don't want to skimp un-necessarily.

Thanks.

Of the stats you provided,

5k members. <-- not a problem
1000 online (over 15 minutes) at peak. <-- rather high to be sticking to a vps for it.