I need some tips on setting up VPS

I would like some advice on setting up a VPS. I think I use Debian Squeeze 6 + nginx + mysql + phpmyadmin and I don't know if it's enough? It should be something to work well IPB 3.3.2 ? Suppose we choose nginx, I would like someone to tell me how to configure the site or set configuration site to function properly FURLs and htaccess? For example, I studied a little internet and got to the that nginx conf file:

server {

listen 80;

server_name www.mydomain.com mydomain.com;

root /var/www/www.mydomain.com/public/;

if ($http_host != "www.mydomain.com") {

rewrite ^ http://www.mydomain.com$request_uri permanent;

}

index index.php index.html;

location = /favicon.ico {

log_not_found off;

access_log off;

}

location = /robots.txt {

allow all;

log_not_found off;

access_log off;

}

# Make sure files with the following extensions do not get loaded by nginx because nginx would display the source code, and these files can contain PASSWORDS!

location ~* .(engine|inc|info|install|make|module|profile|test|po|sh|.*sql|theme|tpl(.php)?|xtmpl)$|^(..*|Entries.*|Repository|Root|Tag|Template)$|.php_ {

deny all;

}

# Deny all attempts to access hidden files such as .htaccess, .htpasswd, .DS_Store (Mac).

location ~ /. {

deny all;

access_log off;

log_not_found off;

}

location ~* .(jpg|jpeg|png|gif|css|js|ico)$ {

expires max;

log_not_found off;

}

location ~ .php$ {

try_files $uri =404;

include /etc/nginx/fastcgi_params;

fastcgi_pass 127.0.0.1:9000;

fastcgi_param SCRIPT_FILENAME $document_root$fastcgi_script_name;

}

}

It's good (or secure) for host IPB 3.3.2 with IP Nexus, Content, Galllery, Blog, the configuration file above?

• Replies 112
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I run 3.3 on exactly that setup, though I add APC also for caching and have IPB use APC for its caching.

The VPS is a 1GB/2GB OpenVZ VPS with very fast disk (300MB/sec or so plus SSD cache for the node - buyvm rocks :-)