The right way to edit themes

Madal
Go to solution Solved by Ehren,

So i have recently got into Invision Community platform, as we all here are. I am one of those many  who has no knowledge on coding or building an online community, so I try really not to rush and try to make right choices long term. On my research to do so I have ran into very basic problem in my head.

We all would like our community to look certain way - design wise. The default theme of IC is actually looking very decent. There are also many themes on the marketplace to choose from. But there is always something "wrong". I personally would like to have a really clean theme, with only necessary elements. As a beginner I tried to overcome this problem by buying a theme on the marketplace and editing it by deleting certain elements by editing html. And it worked to some extent.

But as I understand editing html is not a solution as it will cause problems when i need to update the theme from the developer release for example !? So the right and issue-free way would be edit the theme with CSS instead, right? Or perhaps I am getting it all wrong from the beginning?

Thanks for your time !

40 minutes ago, Madal said:

So i have recently got into Invision Community platform, as we all here are. I am one of those many  who has no knowledge on coding or building an online community, so I try really not to rush and try to make right choices long term. On my research to do so I have ran into very basic problem in my head.

We all would like our community to look certain way - design wise. The default theme of IC is actually looking very decent. There are also many themes on the marketplace to choose from. But there is always something "wrong". I personally would like to have a really clean theme, with only necessary elements. As a beginner I tried to overcome this problem by buying a theme on the marketplace and editing it by deleting certain elements by editing html. And it worked to some extent.