Skinning & Invision Community Suite 4

wimg

We have probably all read that it will be easier to de any skinning for the upcoming new suite release.

I would like to express here a request I have for set-up of CSS files and templates, just in case ;).

I have been converting a complex skin from 3.1.4 to 3.4.4, and I find that a few areas are virtually unaccessible from the templates, let alone from CSS. Examples are parts of the sideblocks, and the hovercard, such as closing and opening activities on sideblocks and sidebars, and buttons and links in the hovercard.

Things which used to work fine in 3.1.x, can no longer be implemented in 3.4.x other than rewriting parts of the actual php and/or javascript code. This is not an option for me, and likely not for many other skinners out there either. Personally, I wouldn't know how I could distribute such a skin to a non-technical user, and I couldn't write the code to do so either - I am a beginner at php and javascript, even though I do understand development well enough, and was a competent enough developer a bunch of years ago.

As a skinner I want to be able to determine exactly how a structural interface items looks and works, and unfortunately I can't now, as I don't have enough fine-grained control over these items. There is the simple set-up of badges (ipsBadge) for example: I can make them look pretty nifty when accessible from a template, as I would have to add a few tags and some css here and there, but this is really impossible with e.g. hovercards. Similarly with open and close "buttons" in the sideblocks - those are x-es and ellipsises now, and the way they are controlled, it is virtually impossible to have one's own set of controls - it even appears impossible to make them go away to just replace them with a single graphical element.