PM display as threads

Guest Coastie

I'd like to see PMs display as threads, with replies just as they are in topics rather than quote after quote. It would be easy to tell them apart from a normal thread as the left side menu would still remain on screen. That would be an excellent addition.

All in all it might even save a little space in the DB as only one copy would need to be retained that both members could view.

• 1 year later...

I'd much rather have them be topic style. As an admin, I get far too many PM's that leave me scratching my head trying to figure out what was said before. A thread would solve that problem. I miss it from UBB.Classic days.

While I'm not exactly sure how such private threads would work, I would like to suggest something a bit different but similar to this idea. I think I've seen it on a SMF forum.

So, the idea is to see all PMs as one thread. Meaning, I can see the text of all the PMs on one page (or - if you have 100 PMs, for example, you could see it on 2 pages - 50 messages per page). Thus it becomes much more foreseeable, in my opinion. I don't have to open each message separately to know (to remember) what's inside.

This would help greatly especially considering that members are lazy in thinking and writing meaningful message titles. Also, I think this should not be too hard to implement (contrary to a whole new system of private threads, probably?).

All in all it might even save a

little

space in the DB as only one copy would need to be retained that both members could view.

You mean if a member chooses to save a copy of the sent PM? (As if they don't, the message is only available to the receiver - one copy.) If I'm not mistaken, even if the sender saves a copy of the PM, it is still stored in the DB as one message. So, that would not be a problem. :)