Several questions about developer mode

MacDee

I'm new to IPS and trying to figure out how to use developer mode.

1. It's a bad idea to run dev mode on production server so I have to run a copy on my dev machine.

Can I use the same license to install it? Will it not be treated like double installation or something?

2. After making changes to the app and rebuilding it how do I transfer the new version to the production machine?

Will simply replacing the app files be enough or maybe it also does changes to DB like storing compiled js or something?...

3. Do I understand it correctly that I do not need the "dev" folders for those apps that I do not intend to make changes to?

1. Use your normal license key with -TESTINSTALL on the end. So if your license key was "123-456-789" you would enter "123-456-789-TESTINSTALL".
  2. If it's an app you're developing, you'll go to AdminCP -> Applications and click the "Download" button for the app (it only shows once developer mode is enabled) - this will prompt you first to build the application, which will create all the upgrade routines, and then download a file you can upload to the live site and run through the upgrader. For built-in apps, you'll need to make your changes through a plugin which you'll download and install on your live site in the same way.
  3. You need the developer files for all installed applications as once you're in developer mode it will load resources directly from them (which is one of the reasons why you shouldn't use it on a live site - it's slow).

I think on #2 they mean how do they get the configuration from their TESTINSTALL over to the production site? Things like custom CSS, where widgets are ordered, etc.

I've wondered this myself, what is the best way to do this to avoid as much as possible having to redo the configurations manually.

Thanks for the reply!