MyISAM, MyISAM - or SolidDB?

Guest W13

I've heard good things about SolidDB. There was an article on Database Journal about it setting new records. Has anybody seen a significant increase in performance from switching db engines? Currently, we're using MyISAM on 'MYSQL (4.1.18-standard-log)' (and PHP 4.4.2 (cgi-fcgi)).

We run a pretty high traffic forum... so anything we can do to cut down on the query time helps. I'm interested to find out what others have done to optimize mySQL for IP.Board. Thanks.

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've no experience with SolidDB - if you use it, let me know how it performs.

MyISAM is generally recommended for the majority of IPB tables. sessions table can be set to HEAP, and I usually set topic_markers table to InnoDB (row-level locking, and no real searching done on the table).

sessions table can be set to HEAP, and I usually set topic_markers table to InnoDB (row-level locking, and no real searching done on the table).

Will this make much difference? We have a pretty big IPB and since upgrading to 2.2 our dedicated server is having troubles. We've upgraded to MySQL 5.1 but it hasn't made any difference.

Are there any other changes to the tables we can make to speed things up?

EDIT: I've set ibf_sessions to 'MEMORY' (apparently this is the same as HEAP in MySQL 5) - cant see any options to set topic_markers to InnoDB? (can only change to MyISAM, MEMORY, ARCHIVE or MRG MYISAM) :s

EDIT 2: Ok, just looked at the SQL System Vars and it says 'have_innodb DISABLED' - would enabling it to allow topic_markers use InnoDB make *that* much difference?

It would only be worthwhile if you see the topic_markers table locking a lot. If you don't notice it locking, you likely won't notice much difference.

I've got some other resource improvements ready for 2.2.2 that will help tremendously. Feel free to submit a ticket if you wish to test them.