IP.Converge

Guest MC--

Well i installed IP.Converge smoothly, importing of the members and setting went well, but my host requires me to have the

$INFO['safe_mode']='1';

set to 1, in the conf_global.php. I wanted to know why Converge can't be run in safe mode. If i attempt to run my board or converge in safe mode, the cache files aren't written. I tried adding

$INFO['safe_mode']='1';

to the conf_global.php in the admin dir, but it returned an "IPS Driver Error". I have little IPB experience, since i made the switch from SMF. Can someone please help? As i said Converge looks impressive! I plan to create a community (promoting Converge) and linking gaming clan boards together. :thumbsup:

P.S: My Converge installation is ioncube encoded.

Thanks

Hi,

Firstly, I'd reccomend a new host! A host that forces scripts to run in safe mode isn't brilliant.

But to solve your actual problem, IP. Converge has no such option in the conf_global file - are you sure your host is not referring to IP. Board? If that is the case, you need to open conf_global.php in your board installation and find this:

$INFO['safe_mode']='0';

and change it to:

$INFO['safe_mode']='1';

This will mean that your cache files are not written - it's the whole idea of safe mode. ;)

If you are having problems - tell your host to do it themselves! :lol:

Have a nice day,
P

Guest Piracy_Is_Evil

Check the pre-requirements for IP.Board and Converge --- I think converge requires safe mode to be off...

You really should try real hosting. IPS offers it for 10$ a month, and that comes with top of the line support. (you get something we dont - you can page an emergency tech to help you!)

I can't complain, it's a free host with no ads. In the Converge conf_global.php "$INFO['safe_mode']='0';" is not there, does that mean i can't use Converge in safe mode?