IP.Board Missing Permission Feature

ᴡᴅツ

Selective permissions cannot be created, especially on subscription based forums. I have a forum where it's subscription based so every month each member gets demoted to Validating until they buy new subscription. Of these members, 1 of them is not allowed to post in Forum X but is allowed to view the posts in Forum X.

This cannot be done however, without over-riding the user's permissions. This is not a proper solution for the member then gains indefinite access to the forum after subscription expires.

2 groups cannot be used. When a user registers and buys subscription, they are placed in the Paid Members group. There is no free section on the forum. Of those Paid Members, 1 of them is not allowed to post in Forum Category X. That member's permissions cannot be overridden because it would eliminate the Paid Members' Group permissions for the special forum permission mask. That means that specific user will have indefinite access to the forum, which results in free membership.

Of course what you said would work in a free forum and if the admin(s) is willing to manually modify each member into 2 different groups. This issue hasn't been addressed for forums that are private, globally, requiring paid subscription for access. I wonder how much of IPS' consumers use the subscription manager.

Well the subscription manager is now a community project and so this suggestion would be best to put in the Subscriptions Manager forum.

As for it only being one member? I don't think I fully comprehend the problem. If it is one user out of hundreds then what is so difficult?

You can have a default group and then a secondary group that is what the subscription manager upgrades. So the secondary group is what actually gives the permissions. At least, from what I remember from messing with it you can do this.

This is not an issue with the subscription manager. It is an issue with IP.Board's permission matrix qualifications per user.