Jump to content
Jordan Miller
 Share


New feature: disable your inbox

Take control of your community messenger inbox.

Topics, replies and reviews are an incredible way to engage with members in a community, but sometimes a conversation needs to be had in private. 

Invision Community's built-in messenger is a powerful system that allows members to privately message another member, or a group of members, directly within your community. 

However, allowing your members unrestricted access to reach out could clog up your community inbox (and mind!). There are times when you may want a little space from receiving new messages. For example, when you are… 

  • Going on vacation
  • Working on a project that requires your complete attention
  • Needing a moment to catch up

Currently, your only option is to disable the entire messaging system. That is effective, but it means you cannot engage with existing messages, send replies or message other members.

We’ve developed a solution! 

Invision Community 4.7.0 allows for more refined control over your messenger by allowing you to disable the inbox. 

The benefit of this is that you can continue existing conversations and start conversations with others while preventing anyone from messaging you (except staff members) either directly or via the Alerts System.


Could contain: File, Text, Electronics, Computer

 

The "Disable my messenger" link has been replaced with "Disable my inbox". The warning pop-up makes it clear what this action will do.


Could contain: Computer, Electronics, Tablet Computer, Menu, Text

 

Of course, administrators can still completely disable the messenger for themselves and other members of the community, which prevents them from accessing the messenger entirely.

The new disable your inbox feature, included in Invision Community 4.7.0, will be available to all in the near future.

Thoughts on the disabling the inbox feature? Let us know what you think in the comments!
 

Related:

 Share

Comments

Recommended Comments

Is there a way to disable or prevent certain user groups to communicate with other user groups? I would love to use the the inbox and private messages with the members, but I do NOT want them to communicate each other using it. I used it in the past and quite a few spammed members trying to sell them all kind of services.

How can we prevent that from happening? I thought:

  • We can disable the PM between user groups XYZ and user groups ZYX
  • Only admins/moderators or selected user groups will be able to send/read PM

By doing so, admins/moderators can use the messaging system and prevent spammers from using it to contact members.

I had to disable the messaging system to prevent spammers, they really did bad things by contacting hundreds of members. I can't let that happen again. So I disabled it, but by disabling it, I cannot use the new ALERT SYSTEM reply functionality either.

Thanks a lot

Edited by OptimusBain
Link to comment
Share on other sites

This new feature sounds great, but IPS are already missing many stuff that message system needed to have.

  • The system doesn't show or notify you how much is your quota storage or how many is left like it shows for Admin in the ACP for Members. 
  • Members doesn't receive a notification or a warning whenever their inbox is full or almost close to be full.
  • Members doesn't receive a notification whenever someone leaves the conversation.

Hopefully you guys listen because what I mentioned must have them in the message system. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 6/11/2022 at 12:02 AM, OptimusBain said:

Is there a way to disable or prevent certain user groups to communicate with other user groups? I would love to use the the inbox and private messages with the members, but I do NOT want them to communicate each other using it. I used it in the past and quite a few spammed members trying to sell them all kind of services.

How can we prevent that from happening? I thought:

  • We can disable the PM between user groups XYZ and user groups ZYX
  • Only admins/moderators or selected user groups will be able to send/read PM

By doing so, admins/moderators can use the messaging system and prevent spammers from using it to contact members.

I had to disable the messaging system to prevent spammers, they really did bad things by contacting hundreds of members. I can't let that happen again. So I disabled it, but by disabling it, I cannot use the new ALERT SYSTEM reply functionality either.

Thanks a lot

 

On 6/11/2022 at 12:51 AM, DawPi said:

Check this mod then:

 

Nice 👍!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 6/12/2022 at 10:37 AM, Afrodude said:

This new feature sounds great, but IPS are already missing many stuff that message system needed to have.

  • The system doesn't show or notify you how much is your quota storage or how many is left like it shows for Admin in the ACP for Members. 
  • Members doesn't receive a notification or a warning whenever their inbox is full or almost close to be full.
  • Members doesn't receive a notification whenever someone leaves the conversation.

Hopefully you guys listen because what I mentioned must have them in the message system. 

Appreciate you weighing in. These are some great suggestions 😃 

I personally love the PM system and think these are some awesome ideas to improve things. Thank you 🙏 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 6/12/2022 at 1:37 PM, Afrodude said:

This new feature sounds great, but IPS are already missing many stuff that message system needed to have.

  • The system doesn't show or notify you how much is your quota storage or how many is left like it shows for Admin in the ACP for Members. 
  • Members doesn't receive a notification or a warning whenever their inbox is full or almost close to be full.
  • Members doesn't receive a notification whenever someone leaves the conversation.

Hopefully you guys listen because what I mentioned must have them in the message system. 

100% in agreement. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I am not super excited about this, but it is a nice addition. Maybe you want to add an option upon deactivation, which allowes the user to decide when the inbox will be activated again? This could offer something like

  • automatically enable inbox again after <x> days,
  • automatically enable inbox again at <date>, and
  • never (inbox needs to be enabled manually)".

Without that it might happen that someone forgets about the deactivation and just never enables the inbox again. It is also nice that one does not have to care about activation later, because usually you know when you are back (e.g. from a vacation) and want to participate again.

Edited by MMXII
Link to comment
Share on other sites



Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Add a comment...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...