4.2 Upgrade Help

oogrmick

I've written elsewhere about the problems I'm having trying to upgrade to 4.2 so now I'm asking for help from anyone familiar with servers and software.

I'm just a forum admin who spends money on forum software and web hosting fees. I can install, I can ftp and so on, but when there's a problem I need some help. I use shared hosting via Bravenet as my forum is only a small community. The ips4.php test file, which admittedly was designed for 4.1 still says my server is suitable for IP Board installation (I'm good to go!) and Invision tell me that nothing has changed in 4.2 - so it should work right?

I've been in touch with Invision support who say it's nothing to do with them, or at least it's not the software. I've been in touch with my web hosts and they can't see why there should be a problem and that it must be the software. If those 2 between them can't work it out then clearly I've got no chance and right now I'm in the middle of a redirect loop myself (pass the buck I think its called)

Anyway, I was running v4.1 and have never had a problem with original install or any later updates to 4.1.19.4. The update to 4.2 failed with "too many redirects". A manual update failed likewise.

Now over the weekend I installed Wampserver on my laptop, downloaded 4.1.19.4 files and managed to update to 4.2 including the database. Everything appears to be working fine. I've just uploaded the whole lot to my website, moving original files so as not to have anything there that shouldn't be. Created a new database so that's clean 4.2 too. I've edited the conf files to point to new database and web root etc... but it still fails as before with "too many redirects". I can't access anything.

So, anyone like to hazard a guess as to where the problem might lie? Server, software,?

1 hour ago, oogrmick said: