I am new to ip.boards, but a feature I'd like to see

Frank Jorgensen

Something I'd really like to see.

We use multiple forums on different top level domains, though they're all related and even have overlapping sub forums. It would be really great if there was some way to link these different forums, like sharing userbase, share forums and other things.

This would also give us a very strong reason to use ip.boards on all our sites, and not like now, where we have several different forum softwares.

This would of course only be relevant to people with more than one board, but it would be incredibly useful for those who have more than one board.

IPS Connect, is that a user created thing or something created by IPS?

IPS Connect is an official product / project from IPS. You can read more on how to use it, and what it is all about.

A snippet from the docs:

IPS Connect provides a simple solution for any application to to implement single sign-on (SSO) with other IPS Connect compatible applications.

In an IPS Connect network, there will be one "master" application and any number of "slave" applications.

The IPS Community Suite (versions 3.4 and above), can serve as either a master or a slave in an IPS Connect network.

This article will show you how to connect two IPS Community Suite installations using IPS Connect.

--

I know you can already link forums by simply making a static link. But I'd like to see something that could show the amounts of posts in the forum and if there's new posts in it, without having to go to the other forum.

Okay, so that's an interesting question. You can get stats and such via the SSI scripts that are included in the download (under /Tools/ssi.php and /Tools/ssi_templates) However, those really are good for using it outside of IPB. I can't speak for the best way of doing that within an existing system... somebody else might though :)