Our behavior on IP Board

svit

Being an admin myself I am visiting this forum almost daily searching for news and important updates relevant to my communities. I have noticed that my daily routine is always the same and looks like this:

In 99% of cases I click on my username (in the top black zone) and then I click o n the Content I Follow.

Only exceptionally I click on: My username - My Content. And that's it.

I never click on 'View New Content' nor the little 'droplet' icon next to it. Is it only me? If not, would it be useful to trace your behaviour on the board page, maybe we find that the most important functions are hidden and the less important ones exposed. I am looking forward to your feedback.

I have this board set to subscribe to all topics I post in.

I hardly ever view the forums in the traditional way to look for new topics, I mostly use the 'view new content' option for forums, blogs, market place and tracker. I also rarely go back more than 3 pages when looking for new content.

I always click on any 'starred' new content as it would be a topic I have already contributed in.
I only click on a new topic if it's title is interesting or relevent.

About once a week i will check 'my content' to see if there are any replies to my subscribed topics that i may have missed.

Other than that, I only search the forums if I am looking for specific topics that I am researching.

so the traditional way of board index > choose a forum > scan topics is something I hardly ever do. The only time I visit the board index is when switching between tabs and I click on the 'forums' tab. At that time I would also give the content side bars a quick scan to see if there was anything of interest to me.

regards
Richard

Ive gotta be the only one here that uses the quick-navigation, and actually browses.... mind you, yeah, ill hit my replies first... but yeah, i do use the quicknav.