Jump to content

Invision Community Blog


Managing successful online communities


4.5: New Post-Installation Onboarding

Learn about changes coming in 4.5 that will make setting up a new community even easier than before.


Installing Invision Community for the first time is a fun and exciting process. After all, you're about to launch a new community that is going to thrive and attract members from all over, and you want to make sure you set it up just right to facilitate a painless experience for your visitors.

If you're new to Invision Community, however, it can be a little daunting when you think about "ok what now?" immediately after installing the software.

Though experience, and researching the analytical data Invision Community installations voluntarily share with us, we identified many common settings that most communities change, and it is easy to see why. In an effort to make Invision Community more approachable to new administrators, we have devised an intuitive "new installation" onboarding process that will help you configure the community just right, and quickly.

Upon first logging in to Invision Community after installing the software, administrators are presented with a welcome screen.

image.png

Welcome to your new Invision Community!

You can obviously skip this step by clicking away to another page if you wish, and you won't be bothered again. If you click the "Skip this step" link on the page, you will be sent an email with a link to return to the page in the future should you wish to do so.

Continuing into the helpful wizard, you will be presented with a screen like so

image.png

A helpful guided wizard

You'll note that there's an explanation as to why you may wish to configure these settings, as well as guidance for where to find the same options later should you wish.

Upon clicking next, you'll see the previous step marked as completed. You can even skip around steps by clicking and expanding on them should you wish to do so.

image.png

Each step is explained in detail

If you reached this page but decide that you have to do something else first, there is a "Remind me later" option at the bottom of the page. Clicking it will allow you to resume whatever else you need to do first, but will helpfully bring you back to this onboarding step at a later time to finish your quick setup.

Finally, once you submit the form you will be presented with a confirmation page containing links to several other areas that you may wish to visit to get started. Things like setting up forums and setting up groups are common tasks, so we've consolidated links to those areas on one helpful screen as part of the new quick setup.

image.png

Confirmation that you're doing great so far!

This change is but one small way that we strive to ensure our software is easy to understand and easy to use. The next time you set up a new community, we hope these adjustments make the process smoother for you, allowing you to get the backend work done quickly so you can focus on the real goal - growing your new community.


Comments

Recommended Comments

On 4/10/2020 at 10:00 AM, mcartemon2we23 said:

when will the public test 4.5 come out?

When it's ready.

Edited by Tripp★
Edited based on feedback.

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites
Quote

You can obviously skip this step by clicking away to another page if you wish, and you won't be bothered again. If you click the "Skip this step" link on the page, you will be sent an email with a link to return to the page in the future should you wish to do so.

Might be a good idea to send an email with the link if they click away as well.  Or have options like, "No thanks (I already know what to do)" to not get an email and "Maybe later (email me a link)" to get an email, but both options redirecting to the normal ACP page.

 

On 4/10/2020 at 1:53 PM, Tripp★ said:

When it's ready.

When It's Ready™

Don't forget the "™" with it.

Edited by Wolfie

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites
On 4/11/2020 at 10:47 PM, Wolfie said:

When It's Ready™

Don't forget the "™" with it.

Edited. Cheers for catching that!

On 4/12/2020 at 3:13 AM, breatheheavy said:

😫 I would love to know too 

Wouldn't we all? It'll be out when it's out. 🙂

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think this could be useful to seasoned admins as well as newbies, as it may show a feature despite running a forum for years, you may not know about.

Is this something you can toggle on even if you are upgrading to 4.5, or is this only triggered for new installations?

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, Joy Rex said:

I think this could be useful to seasoned admins as well as newbies, as it may show a feature despite running a forum for years, you may not know about.

Is this something you can toggle on even if you are upgrading to 4.5, or is this only triggered for new installations?

This is a quick setup process for new installations. The page is "available" even for existing installations, but there's no direct link to it - you'd need to adjust your URL manually to reach the page.

Share this comment


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Add a comment...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

Important Information

We use technologies, such as cookies, to customise content and advertising, to provide social media features and to analyse traffic to the site. We also share information about your use of our site with our trusted social media, advertising and analytics partners. See more about cookies and our Privacy Policy