Jump to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

Learn more

Account Mistakenly Flgged as a Spammer

Featured Replies

Hi.

A member of our team mistakenly flagged an account as that of a spammer - all the content was hidden. The account has now been un-flagged - is there a way to un-hide all the content en masse?

Thanks.

  • Community Expert

I'm afraid, there is no mass unhide, that will be a manual process. We could restore a backup if this happened recently so everything is unhidden but that will take your whole community (data, posts, everything) back to that date. If you decide to do this, please submit a ticket.

  • Author
3 hours ago, Jim M said:

I'm afraid, there is no mass unhide, that will be a manual process. We could restore a backup if this happened recently so everything is unhidden but that will take your whole community (data, posts, everything) back to that date. If you decide to do this, please submit a ticket.

Thanks. But as you hinted/surmised, that would cause more problems than it would solve. I think the admin has already worked through it - though, it took some time.

I wonder if this occurs often enough for Invision to develop an unhide process!?

  • Community Expert
3 hours ago, Como said:

Thanks. But as you hinted/surmised, that would cause more problems than it would solve. I think the admin has already worked through it - though, it took some time.

I wonder if this occurs often enough for Invision to develop an unhide process!?

Its not a hugely often occurance, to be honest

  • Author
9 hours ago, Marc said:

Its not a hugely often occurance, to be honest

Fair enough. Thanks.

  • Author

Hi @Marc

Further to the above, unbeknownst to me, it appears that when the account was incorrectly flagged as a spammer, it was also (automatically) placed on the 'Restricted from posting' list. I only became aware last night that this member could not post and there is no log entry associated with this restriction.

If a spam-flagged account is also automatically placed on the 'Restricted from posting' list - which seems to be the case - should it not also be automatically removed from post restriction list in the event of the spam-flag being being reversed? This has caused some additional upset since it follows on from the account being incorrectly flagged as a spammer in the first place.

Upon reflection, I think it would be useful in the event of an account being erroneously flagged as a spammer that reversal of the flag undoes all actions associated with the initial flagging. You can treat this as a suggestion.

Thanks.

  • Community Expert

It would indeed reverse that. Have you checked they were not added with that restriction before it was marked?

  • Author
On 7/13/2026 at 10:09 AM, Marc said:

It would indeed reverse that. Have you checked they were not added with that restriction before it was marked?

Hi @Marc

I did check the logs before posting here - no team member had restricted this member from posting. This is why I assumed that it was the result of the account being erroneously flagged as a spammer. By all means check our logs for yourself.

I took a screenshot of the admin logs (filtered for this member). Create an admin account and access the below post if you wish:

/topic/287890-REDACTED/page/2/#findComment-3692854

You will see from the logs that I reversed the slam-flag more than a week ago, and reversed the posting restriction a couple of days ago.

Recently Browsing 0

  • No registered users viewing this page.

Search

Search

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.