Jump to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

Learn more

Unexpected Behaviour: Delete and Hide Permission for Members

Featured Replies

If a member has permission to delete or hide their posts, and they delete or hide the opening post to a topic, this deletes or hides the whole topic. Invision treats the whole topic (and all posts from all members within the topic) as belonging to the OP rather than individual contributing members posting to the topic. This is unexpected behaviour.

I long ago reported about this problem (as it relates to deletion of posts), and disabled the option for members to prevent this behavior. But I was recently contacted by member who needed to edit her posts beyond our our 30-day limit for reasons of privacy. There were far too many posts for me to take of this for her. So I added a secondary group with no time limit on editing and also added the ability to hide her posts. I did not recall (at the time) my earlier experiences with delete permission when I first used this software a few years ago. But even if I had done so, I am unsure if I would have guessed that 'hide' would also work in this anomalous manner.

I did report here the issue with the delete permission a few years ago, but that topic seems to have disappeared or is now inaccessible to me. I do not recall similar behaviour in any other forum software. Is it just me who finds this to be unexpected behaviour? Irrespective, there surely should be additional group ACP options for Delete and Hide. Either as an extra permission option to hide the whole topic; or choose if hiding/deleting the OP affects only the opening post or all posts in the topic.

Deleting the first item in a topic, is the topic itself. To be honest, Im fairly sure this happens in most platforms. I could well be wrong of course

Recently Browsing 0

  • No registered users viewing this page.

Search

Search

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.