Should I leave Invision after 14 years for Xenforo?

Go to solution Solved by Matt,

To keep things short.... I've been using the Invision community software since 2008 or so, but lately, things have turned for the worst. 

They are bumping the cloud version, leaving the self-hosted clients in the dark. Even If I hold 5 licenses with them (2 active), I don't have email support (which is a basic requirement if you ask me for paid clients), leaving me the only option to post in forums, bump threads HOPING someone will see my thread and answer to me.

Folks. Invision is not open source with community support. You charge me $100 every 6 months for each active license.

It's been a week, and nothing except me talking to the walls.

So I don't hide it. I'm thinking of switching to XenForo even though I literally purchased 57 paid addons in the marketplace and hold 5 IPS licenses.

Respect your customers for god sake! 

Edited by MediaDiGi

Im not sure why you’re asking if you should leave. Do you really expect someone here to say you should?

Regarding support via the forums… as a customer, I’ve found replies faster… I’ve found that other non-staff have been able to answer my questions with even more info than sometimes can be provided by staff AND I’ve found a ton of data from searching to help myself self-service. 

What I actually find most amusing is that you are complaining about not having email support but that case IS in an email now. You’re apparently not getting IPS emails.  So I’m not sure how this being in an email would have helped as it’s already there. 

Regarding Xenforo… As already pointed out, the grass is not always greener on the other side. In addition to support issues there, I also see a TON of people there complaining about the lack of updates.  It’s slowly turning into vaporware. 

Only you can decide what is right for you and your community but personally I don’t find Xenforo to be any sort of “upgrade”.