Emoji sorting

Maxxius

Agreed! I've seen this suggested several times before here, and personally I would definitely use this.

Ideally the option to re-arrange emoji categories (especially putting custom emojis higher up), and even customise which emojis show in the emoji box, rather than a simple yes/no of whether to show emojis. Right now you either have to have thousands of them, or none of them. 

Edited by theipsguy

15 minutes ago, Jordan Invision said:

My logic is that most people are on their phones, so they can just use their emoji keyboard versus selecting it above.

What happens in this instance? If you turn off the emoji selector, are emojis stripped out of mobile input? What's the expected outcome here?

I can see at least four possible user stories:

• As a community manager, I want to be able to add my custom emojis into preexisting categories or new categories, and select the order in which those categories appear in the emoji picker.
  • As a community manager, I don't want my members to be able to insert emojis in the text of their content.
  • As a community manager, I want the emojis available to my members to be limited to a set of pre-approved emojis and disallow the inclusion of anything not on my pre-approved list.
  • As a community manager, I want the list of emojis in the emoji picker to be limited to a select group of pre-approved emojis, still allowing a member to insert emojis using their native keyboard.

5 minutes ago, Paul E. said:

What happens in this instance? If you turn off the emoji selector, are emojis stripped out of mobile input? What's the expected outcome here?

I can see at least four possible user stories:

• As a community manager, I want to be able to add my custom emojis into preexisting categories or new categories, and select the order in which those categories appear in the emoji picker.
  • As a community manager, I don't want my members to be able to insert emojis in the text of their content.