API request to my forum is getting blocked by CORS policy

6ichem

I'm getting this error when making a get request from my frontend to the IPB api: 

Access to XMLHttpRequest at 'url' from origin 'null' has been blocked by CORS policy: No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource.

The request works fine when using postman and passing the API as username with no password (like mentioned in the docs) but when doing this with react/axios on the frontend it doesn't seem to work. Is this an issue with IPB? How can it be fixed? I'm no backend pro so any help would be really appreciated. Thanks

Edited by 6ichem

If you make the request within the client/browser, you need to content with CORS which is designed to allow cross-domain requests to work but also provide protection against javascript-based attacks. Essentially, you'll need to add a few response headers for these requests which is typically done at the server level.

Postman doesn't run in the browser context which is why it works without an error.

One word of caution - running any sort of API requests via javascript exposes the API credentials. We'd only recommend using an OAuth-based client for API requests if javascript is going to be executing the API requests, since the permission level will match the current logged in user anyways.

16 hours ago, bfarber said:

If you make the request within the client/browser, you need to content with CORS which is designed to allow cross-domain requests to work but also provide protection against javascript-based attacks. Essentially, you'll need to add a few response headers for these requests which is typically done at the server level.

Postman doesn't run in the browser context which is why it works without an error.