Server side OS choice

I have been using CentOS since last 5-6 years and have no problem or preference over it.

I understand that moving forward my only choice is CentOS 7 and that too for next 3-4 year of EOL.

What are the other possible stable choices out there on which I can run IPS site?

Is there any Linux server OS that comes with GUI panel to manage server?

I have used and liked cPanel in the past but Im happy to explore other options too (plesk etc.), so feel free to suggest new combination (OS + CP) with which you have been happily working with.

P.S. I didn't use cpanel much other than bare minimum task of restarting web services, checking stats or adding new email once in a month type.

We have used Debian for years. It may be too stable for some. If you'd like things a bit "newer," yet still very stable, consider Ubuntu's long-term support (LTS) releases.

You probably can install whatever GUI you'd like to use regardless of the underlying distro, but that would be something to check from whoever is making the control panel. Many of them are not open source and must be licensed, and will likely give you supported configurations.

We do not use a GUI like plesk/cPanel, but they can come in handy for those that use their server space for a number of different projects and want to delegate control of things easily to others.

Thanks Paul, I will definitely explore the Debian and Unbuntu options. Can you also help that which version should I test and play around with?

Also you said that you don't use any control panel, is it you don't need it or those cpanel or plesk make server slow?

On 12/15/2020 at 1:11 AM, Gauravk said:

Can you also help that which version should I test and play around with?