Jump to content

Soft Delete or Hard Delete Topics/Posts


Recommended Posts

Hello all,

I have a question regarding usergroup permissions, specifically for moderators and supermoderators.

I would like these usergroups to be able to soft delete posts and not hard delete information off the server when they are removing topics and posts. 

Can someone tell me if information is soft deleted or not when they have the permissions to delete in the group permissions?

Also, under mod/supermoderator permissions there is an option that says 'Can Manage All Deleted Content'. What exactly does this mean, does this mean that if something has been soft deleted, they would be able to hard delete it?

Any advice for setting up mod and supermod permissions to be able to trash posts without completely removing and what areas to change to the correct setting to do so would be most helpful. I just want to make sure the integrity of the board can have something hard removed from me it in the even of a disgruntled member of staff etc..

Thanks in advance!

Edited by typography
Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, typography said:

Hello all,

I have a question regarding usergroup permissions, specifically for moderators and supermoderators.

I would like these usergroups to be able to soft delete posts and not hard delete information off the server when they are removing topics and posts. 

Can someone tell me if information is soft deleted or not when they have the permissions to delete in the group permissions?

Also, under mod/supermoderator permissions there is an option that says 'Can Manage All Deleted Content'. What exactly does this mean, does this mean that if something has been soft deleted, they would be able to hard delete it?

Any advice for setting up mod and supermod permissions to be able to trash posts without completely removing and what areas to change to the correct setting to do so would be most helpful. I just want to make sure the integrity of the board can have something hard removed from me it in the even of a disgruntled member of staff etc..

Thanks in advance!

You have a couple of approaches:

  1. Many communities simply create a "Trash Bin" board with restricted permissions, and let their moderators move topics into the board.  That would be the strongest method of ensuring you still retain the content.  You would simply setup permissions so only you and your moderators have access to that board.  
  2. You can configure Delayed Delete.  This is related to the permission 'Can Manage All Deleted Content', which is a tab in the ModeratorCP.  Read more about the feature here: https://invisioncommunity.com/news/product-updates/new-delayed-deletes-r1001/
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...