Hide server IP from mail header

Mammon

Hey,

I want to hide the IP address of my server in the mail header for security and DDOS protection reasons.

I tried an SMTP but the server is the sender, so the IP of the server is visible on the header of the mail.

The IP is visible with mail() and SMTP too. I found this trick to use a second IP but I would prefer not to see an ip in the header so that we can not identify my host, and it is preferable that I use an external solution if it's possible (in the event of an server ip blacklist, my host will close my vps).

Is it possible to hide this IP or use another external method ?

I am not really experienced in vps configuration, all I learned is by browsing on internet but on this one I do not find much that can inform me.

I hope to be in the right section,
Thanks for your help !

Edited by Mammon

You need to use a third-party mailing service, or a relay service.

Sending mail locally will always expose your IP.

I assume you're also using a CDN service like Cloudflare on your server, right? Since your servers IP is already exposed to everyone on the internet otherwise.

1 minute ago, Makoto said:

You need to use a third-party mailing service, or a relay service.

Sending mail locally will always expose your IP.

I assume you're also using a CDN service like Cloudflare on your server, right? Since your servers IP is already exposed to everyone on the internet otherwise.

Thanks for your reply,

Yes I use cloudflare, that why it's useless if my server IP is on the mail header 🙃

Can you give more informations about the third-party mailing service operation ? Because I tried a external SMTP from another server, and configure it on the mailing settings from adminCP of IPB but the IP server stay the "sender".

my knowledge ends there (...for now)