[GT] Members | Group Enhancements

The IPS Groups system is POWERFUL. It’s the best way to reward contributors. But, it’s missing some features.

For starters, allowing members to join certain Groups can provide you with additional data. It will also help members connect with like-minded individuals.

When you provide a mechanism for members to join public groups you empower them. You give them the choice to choose what's best for them. This is one way to retain members and increase engagement.

FEATURES in Members | Group Enhancements

NEW: Option to edit the Public Name of each group. 

The Public Name of a group is the name displayed on the frontend (to your users).

Let's say you may want to break up your Members group into newcomers and active

Normally, the community would notice two new groups when doing this but with GTMG they could still see 'Members' (Public Name for each group).

NEW: Option to set a group as Secondary Group Only. 

I have 20+ years experience in managing a forum. I can tell you from experience, adding new groups (and members to groups) can be a daunting task. The best thing to do is to CLEARLY separate your Primary from your Secondary groups. 

Use Primary Group as the base when it comes to options and permissions. 

Use Secondary Groups to add (options/permissions) to the base.  

NEW:  Option to display multiple group badges in Profiles and Posts. 

post_joinedGroup.thumb.png.ff668e3b6f9bbc147b2b1390ce57c2d2.png

Group Badges will be a favorite in your community. The minute you put this up on your site your members will ask you “What are these badges?” and “How can I get one?”

profile-groups.png.7b63fb6d892225398ba7a94f792e3515.png

NEW: Option to hotlink badges in Profiles and Posts. 

Link could go to a landing page explaining the group (selling its benefits, why it exists, etc) or you could link to the Directory or a Club. The goal is to inform your audience about each group.