July 29, 2018 in Technical Problems
I've just noticed that guests can no longer see poll results, they now see
"You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll."
I've not touched a setting and swear it didn't used to be like this, must have changed when those little ? icons were introduced. Is there anyway to allow guests to see the results or is this a thing now?
Did you recently update your board?
In any case, check your group settings in ACP > Members.
Running 4.3.4, would have upgraded pretty much when it came out, only just realised though. Checked all permissions but I can't see anything that would change this.
Members > Groups > Guests > Edit - No poll settings at all unless I'm blind
Can access site
Can access whilst offline
Can be ignored
Bypass flood control
Bypass content moderation
Bypass word filters
Can view display name history
Can view who reacted
Where as if you enter any other group, Admin, Moderator, Member etc. Under the content tab, they have options for can create polls, can vote in polls and can close polls
Ok, under System > Posting > Polls
There is an option for:
Users can view the results before voting? (If disabled, users can still see the results but will forfeit their vote.)
I've always had this disabled, toggled it on, quick look and now guests can see the polls again.
But this means members can now check the result before voting, hmmm, this has changed recently right as I swear guests could see results before. Bit dumb I guess as members could sign out, see the result then log back in if they really wanted before voting, but still for my own mind I'm right, right?
It might be an intentional change by IPS to prevent guests from viewing poll results. I personally think it's better to keep poll results secret, even from guests (makes them.want to register and login, yeah?).
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.
Started 15 hours ago
Started February 10
Started 8 hours ago