Jump to content

Upgrade Retain both Usernames and Display Names


John Pepper
 Share

Recommended Posts

I'm testing upgrading from 3 to 4.  
Is there a way to keep both the usernames and display names in the upgrade?
The username in my version 3 forum were based on a customer number which they use to login but I don't want to loose their real names on a port.  I also don't want to display a users customer numbers to the rest of the users.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nope, not possible. I think an easy way would be to create a profile field (viewed only by the member and staff) in your 3.4 board and feed it with the customer number. Then you wouldn’t lose it when upgrading. 

You probably would require a help to feed the profile field table. You can try to find someone that still works with 3.4 here: https://invisioncommunity.com/third-party/providers/

Edited by Adriano Faria
Link to comment
Share on other sites

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...