Jump to content

css not updating on updates when modified


TheJackal84

Recommended Posts

I don't know if this is a bug or supposed to happen, But if I create a css with a plugin and then someone edits the css file, When they update the plugin the css sheet stays the same (their modified version and not the updated ones), Surely the updated version should override and replace the css sheet no?, The only way to get the newest css is to click revert, This could bring a lot of people thinking the plugin updates are broke when, its not its just not updated their css sheet and a lot of unnecessary support saying you have to click revert etc

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Quote

When a new version of the software is released, there will inevitably be changes to the default templates in which would need to be replicated in your own custom themes. On an upgrade, only unedited templates would be upgraded automatically, and therefore this would be for yourself to upgrade any templates which cannot be upgraded.

https://invisioncommunity.com/4guides/themes-and-customizations/advanced-theming/upgrading-themes-r269/

 

Edited/Customized theme templates stays the same during updates 

not a bug

Link to comment
Share on other sites

22 minutes ago, TAMAN said:

https://invisioncommunity.com/4guides/themes-and-customizations/advanced-theming/upgrading-themes-r269/

 

Edited/Customized theme templates stays the same during updates 

not a bug

 

17 minutes ago, Daniel F said:

Exactly.
 

 

Seems silly to me, To update your board you get a message saying there is differences, yet on a plugin it just updates the plugin not the css and don't tell the user their old edited css will still be there and the new one won't

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wouldn't it be more silly to lose all the customizations? It's IMO up to the client to review his customized templates after an upgrade.

 

Just imagine a client spent several hours to customize some templates and then it would be reverted to the original version after an upgrade.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

13 minutes ago, Daniel F said:

Wouldn't it be more silly to lose all the customizations? It's IMO up to the client to review his customized templates after an upgrade.

Yeah I understand that but a little warning reminding them its modified wouldn't go a miss, Even if they uninstall the plugin the modified css sheet stays there, so to re-install it would still leave the old css sheet only a revert will work

13 minutes ago, Daniel F said:

Just imagine a client spent several hours to customize some templates and then it would be reverted to the original version after an upgrade.

But like on a board update show the differences and ask what one do you want to use, At least that way they know they are not getting any updates to the css sheet if they keep the old one

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, TheJackal84 said:

Yeah I understand that but a little warning reminding them its modified wouldn't go a miss, Even if they uninstall the plugin the modified css sheet stays there, so to re-install it would still leave the old css sheet only a revert will work

But like on a board update show the differences and ask what one do you want to use, At least that way they know they are not getting any updates to the css sheet if they keep the old one

You should not edit theme plugin templates in first place especially the css templates, your customization should go in custom.css so you dont lose anything 

but still, i kinda agree with you, on pluging/apps upgrade it would be nice to get the template differences if user has edited same as upgrading themes

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 11 months later...
On 6/24/2017 at 1:20 AM, Daniel F said:

Wouldn't it be more silly to lose all the customizations? It's IMO up to the client to review his customized templates after an upgrade.

 

Just imagine a client spent several hours to customize some templates and then it would be reverted to the original version after an upgrade.

 

yes it would be silly to just overwrite without prompting.  it's equally silly to not warn that there are differences and give the option to either overwrite, leave the changes, or show and editor with differences highlighted so they can manually merge.

the current lack of at least a warning leaves users confused when things don't work correctly and frustrates marketplace vendors because they have to support their plugins/apps being easily "broken" by the commonplace scenario of a user changing something and then performing an upgrade later.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

51 minutes ago, orp said:

the current lack of at least a warning leaves users confused when things don't work correctly

How about people take some responsibility? If I were to buy software and mess around with its core code without an understanding of the consequences, when problems start arising because of an update or whatever, it is on me. If I am not comfortable with that responsibility, I should not touch it!

I understand it would not hurt to have a notice. But the core issue here lies with the user not the supplier.

52 minutes ago, orp said:

frustrates marketplace vendors because they have to support their plugins/apps being easily "broken" by the commonplace scenario of a user changing something and then performing an upgrade later.

Vendor: "Have you made any modifications?"

User: "Yes"

Vendor: "Reinstall"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...