How does IP Content work?

CaptJeff

HI,  My name is Jeff.  I have two sites that I manage.  HotAirBalloonist.com and TheSkiSkool.com

I am not a developer,  I am a commercial pilot by trade.

So this stuff is rather hard for me.  I am trying to set up a video page using the IP Content thing.  it took me six weeks to figure out what an IP Content was.  So now I understand some.  It is building blocks you can build a page with.  But the whole blocks and templates and why there are some categories that dont have templates and some not??  When you make a page where does it go?  How do you get the new categories to show in the new pages? and how do you get a left border and right border and and and and ..

So I am lost.  I know what I want to do but I have no idea how to make it work.

Does anyone know of a tutorial about the Content app (if that is what you call it) where I can go and read about how it works and what the parts do?

Just so you know we are talking about 3.4.X  I can not even navigate the front side of 4 let alone the back room or CP.  In my oppinion they took a great product and trashed it.  Then created something that is totally useless, at least for me.

All the best.

Jeff

Hi, Jeff. Something like this can be daunting if you're new to it. I've been there myself.

What used to be called IP.Content has been Pages for the last couple of years. The 3.4.x series isn't supported anymore, so you'd be wise to upgrade to the latest version of the suite. Pages is a lot easier to work with than the old IP.Content, that's for sure. There are tutorials for it here: https://invisionpower.com/4guides/suite-applications/pages/

Thank you Meddysong,

4 is so screwed up I can not even use the front side of it let alone the CP.  Tried 5 of the sample communities and could not even function in it.  So that is NOT NEVER EVER an option.  It is worthless to me.  In fact it boggles my mind that they even released it.