Wordpress style updates for plugins

The Old Man

I'm fairly new to Wordpress but have just found out how easy it is to update a third party Plugin. The Sparkpost plugin had an update available for it, so I clicked on the Details and it said what was new and gave me the option to Update or not. Done in 10 seconds!

wordpress.JPG

How easy was that? No messing about, no e-mail notification saying a download/plugin has been updated via the author but not actually saying what the changes are, no having to go to the Marketplace to see what's new in the updated file, no separate log-in, download, then browse to adminCP, upload and install.

The email notifications of an update are handy in IPS, but couldn't we have something easier like this in IPS, please?

• 3 months later...

Would be nice this makes it into 4.2 (update third party mods/plug-in hooks/apps). It's so easy and time-saving, especially if your using an iPad or mobile device.

I've also recently installed a plug-in that notifies me by email when there is an update to my installed plug-ins, with a handy link to that part of the admin dashboard, where I can read the release notes, see if it's verified as compatible with my current version of Wordpress (always the latest) and I can then quickly run the updater with one click.  It will down the zipped update from Wordpress, run the installer and display a log of activity and confirm its updated with a link to the plug-in's setting/configuration page.

A feature like this with notifications for available plug-in updates would be a great addition to the current auto downloaded for the actual IPS software, and could possibly be restricted to IPS Marketplace files for security reasons. Downloading updates and installing manually 

• 9 months later...

Hoping Marketplace Plug-ins get easier, one click updating like Wordpress Plug-ins in IPS4.3.

The update process is starting. This process may take a while on some hosts, so please be patient.