Jump to content

(NB41) Enhanced Advertisements


newbie LAC

Recommended Posts

On 6/26/2020 at 7:37 AM, newbie LAC said:

Hello,

 

@newbie LAC im having some hard times trying to place an advertising banner (iframe) between category 187 and 3

This is the custom css :

.cForumList li[data-categoryid="187"], .cForumList li[data-categoryid="3"]

Extra Condition : empty

The banner does shows up, but its double (which mean it appear twice in same position )

What could be the problem ??

 

editing:

if i edit the css code to show only after 187 category, the advert it shows corectly :

.cForumList li[data-categoryid="187"]

no issue so far with this css custom

 

Edited by mark2012
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 3/9/2021 at 6:57 PM, sadams101 said:

I recently upgraded my site from 4.4.10 to the latest 4.5. I then tried to use Marketplace to upgrade your app from 1.0.14 to 1.0.15, however, I get this error and can upgrade. Any advice?:

image.thumb.png.f36e0ccec33a51db8f0834eea502162a.png

how I solved it was to uninstall then reinstall it

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@newbie LAC

 

I see by your signature that you are in the hospital. I hope all is as well as can be expected.

 

I want to thank you for this mod, you have made a lot of peoples lives easier, mine included.

When you get around to it and are able, I have a question regarding the "Pages" application. I utilize that app on my site and would love to be able to add an advert to published articles every 3 paragraphs or something close to it. Any guidance you might be able to provide here would be greatly appreciated.

 

Best Regards.

Edited by My Sharona
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

to an add code like this (htmls), what do I need to add to make it centered on the page?

 

<a target="_blank" href="https://shareasale.com/r.cfm?b=12842&u=2514300&m=65042&urllink=&afftrack="><img src="https://static.shareasale.com/image/65042/300x250-3.png" border="0" /></a>

 

Kind regards,

 

Marcel

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On at least 8 major template pages your plugin inserts this meta tag into the header:

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8">

The issue is that it creates many WC3 HTML errors, which is very poor for SEO. Can you please fix the plugin so it will not insert this meta tag?

The following 5 errors are caused in each of these 8 templates:

  1. Error: A document must not include both a meta element with an http-equiv attribute whose value is content-type, and a meta element with a charset attribute.

    From line 3, column 73; to line 3, column 94

    et=UTF-8"><meta charset="utf-8"><titl

  2. Error: Attribute http-equiv not allowed on element meta at this point.

    From line 231, column 9; to line 231, column 74

    <header><meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8"><div c

    Attributes for element meta:
    Global attributes
    name — Metadata name
    http-equiv — Pragma directive
    content — Value of the element
    charset  Character encoding declaration
  3. Error: Element meta is missing one or more of the following attributes: itemprop, property.

    From line 231, column 9; to line 231, column 74

    <header><meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8"><div c

    Attributes for element meta:
    Global attributes
    name — Metadata name
    http-equiv — Pragma directive
    content — Value of the element
    charset  Character encoding declaration
  4. Error: A document must not include both a meta element with an http-equiv attribute whose value is content-type, and a meta element with a charset attribute.

    From line 231, column 9; to line 231, column 74

    <header><meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8"><div c

  5. Error: A document must not include more than one meta element with a http-equiv attribute whose value is content-type.

    From line 231, column 9; to line 231, column 74

    <header><meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8"><div c

Edited by sadams101
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 4/26/2021 at 11:15 PM, Marcel Iseli said:

to an add code like this (htmls), what do I need to add to make it centered on the page?

 

1 hour ago, sadams101 said:

On at least 8 major template pages your plugin inserts this meta tag into the header:

 

You guys might want to  read this:

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

I have this code in the settings 

{{if request.app == 'forums' and request.module == 'forums' and request.controller == 'topic'}}
{{$topic = \IPS\Output::i()->hiddenElements['nbenhadverts_item_item'];}}
{{if $topic and $topic->topic_meta_data == 2}}
1
{{endif}}
{{endif}}

so it checks the topic_meta_data field in the topics table and if the value is 2 shows the ad code. While sometimes it works, there are many topics where the value is 2 and the ad code is now showing in the html.

Thank you

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

How is include/exclude list checked? like through a regular expression?

I have about 100.000 urls to be excluded that might violate adsense tos. 

How adding such large list of urls will effect performance?

Thank you.

Edited by virap
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...
On 7/1/2021 at 8:33 AM, jesuralem said:

I really hope we will have some good news from @newbie LAC.

Has anyone upgraded to 4.6 with Enhanced Advertsiements installed ? I don't see why it would work but it would be nice to have confirmation :).

Came here searching for this as well. I'd love to know if there are any plans to update this to 4.6 @newbie LAC 😇 

Or if 4.5 will work with 4.6? 

Edit: Apologies for not realizing or it slipping my mind that Newbie is in the hospital. Sorry about that! Wishing them a lot of healing vibes. 

Edited by breatheheavy
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would like to point out that, as far as I know, nobody has heard from @newbie LAC since January, is that correct? 

If this is true then I fear that the worst has happened, and he may not be back. If anyone has heard from him please let us know.

I am making contingency plans on keeping this plugin up to date. I haven't tested it in 4.6, but I am having some small issues with certain features in 4.5. I also plan to upgrade to 4.6 soon so it would be good to know it if works.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
On 7/26/2021 at 2:07 PM, sadams101 said:

I would like to point out that, as far as I know, nobody has heard from @newbie LAC since January, is that correct? 

If this is true then I fear that the worst has happened, and he may not be back. If anyone has heard from him please let us know.

I am making contingency plans on keeping this plugin up to date. I haven't tested it in 4.6, but I am having some small issues with certain features in 4.5. I also plan to upgrade to 4.6 soon so it would be good to know it if works.

Curious to hear if you've made any progress! 

Sending good vibes out there for nLAC. 🙏 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...