Jump to content

Community

"Flag as spammer" a dangerous tool!


abetts
 Share

Recommended Posts

I had this set to stop the member from posting and to delete their content which it has been for several years. Now, if a member is accidentally flagged as a spammer their content is gone, gone for good. One of my moderators accidently flagged a genuine (and important) member as a spammer and now their content is gone with no way whatsoever of restoring it. 

I've now changed the setting to hid their content but it now means for the 99% of genuine spammers we'll have to remove their posts manually, but it's a safety net that's required. Imagine if someone accidentally flagged a member with thousands of posts as a spammer, that would be a disaster! 

Bring back 'deleted content' is the answer IMO! 

Edited by abetts
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Perhaps there ought to be an additional safety net with this, for a 'fatal' action such as this (like forum pruning) the moderator should have to re-authenticate themselves.

This would only prevent accidents if they agree to the modal popup though, it obviously won't stop them if they are not really aware of what they are about to do...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Adriano Faria said:

This is optional. You can configure to not delete the content.

Thanks. Although as I pointed out in my post up there, I'm aware of this and have it set to now hide content. 

If someone with thousands of posts was flagged as a spammer by accident, this would absolutely ruin any forum; trust, continuity etc.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...

Having had a chance to use this and already have a moderator do an accident click on mobile (fortunately I only have it set to hide), an undo button for this that would revert everything to pre-click settings would be great.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 7 months later...
On 26/04/2017 at 2:52 AM, Morgin said:

Having had a chance to use this and already have a moderator do an accident click on mobile (fortunately I only have it set to hide), an undo button for this that would revert everything to pre-click settings would be great.

Yes, an undo button which unhides all content and re-enables the member and reverts back to how things were before hitting flag as a spammer would be amazing. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

There should be recyle bin for operations that might have significant impact.
Deletions of members f.ex. I, by mistake, deleted a long time member with over 10k posts. Luckily we make daily backups..

Another issue when it comes to spam protection is that the Spam-service can flag IP's with multiple registrations. I, as administrator, is banned from my own forum because I have setup some test-accounts... :)
We also had a large company banned because several employees have registered with same IP.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We use technologies, such as cookies, to customise content and advertising, to provide social media features and to analyse traffic to the site. We also share information about your use of our site with our trusted social media, advertising and analytics partners. See more about cookies and our Privacy Policy