Community members don't like all the IPB changes.

vpsBoard

Surely I'm not the only one experiencing this. The new post editor, no one likes. We all want the old BB code editor back and there is no fix or workaround. Members who had bookmarked URLs for new content complained because the URL structure in updates have changed, and IPB didn't build in redirects to prevent error pages from being shown when the old pages were accessed instead of the new "discover" pages. As an admin I've seen more complaints than I ever have in 4.X.X since upgrading from 3.4.X

Am I the only one?

It's really done more damage to my community than it has helped it. Several of my top posters hate the updates so much that they've told me they've just decided to stop posting.

1 hour ago, vpsBoard said:

As an admin I've seen more complaints than I ever have in 4.X.X since upgrading from 3.4.X

LOL I actually think I saw more complaints for the upgrade from the 2.x series to 3.x series. The 3.x series to 4.x series is quite amazing. The improvements that have happened are amazing and they keep going and getting better.

1 hour ago, Evil Edwina said:

BBCode is a fossil, it's old and it needed to be replaced. I wouldn't want to go back to it. The editor is not perfect, but it's getting better.

That's like saying HTML is a fossil.

It would still be nice for those of us who wish to utilize the "old" editor, the one that wasn't buggy, had proper post previews, a proper 'view source' (of BB code) and that is the similar to most other forum platforms (besides the ones that use markup like vanilla).