Am just not understanding the application install progress

daniel moloney

hello, I am new to IPS, am experinced with wordpress but have never had to fiddle around with the FTP like we have to do here.

So for the last few hours i have been trying to install an application for my site, mainly the portal application.

I have Downloaded the file, unzipped it, located the "uploads" , copied the contents into where i feel is the correct place via FileZilla. What is meant by the Forum Root? the very first place in the directory for my site? or a certain forums folder deeper within? I have tried copying my upload files to the root directory of my site - public_html/MyySite.com, as well  as the public_html/MySite.com/applications/forums/modules/front/forums & public_html/SextingFlings.com/applications/forums but neither will make the app appear in the Admin CP to install.

I am sure once i have been shown once i will understand it fully, i am having big problems understanding the terminology in the tutorials i have read, namely this one - http://www.devfuse.com/forums/tutorials/article/156-install-ipb-34-application-guide/

Any help would be greatly appreciated, am extremely frustrated and have tried following that tutorial 10 times now,

Thanks

First of all, are you running IPBoard 3.4.x or IPS4 ? :)

As the 'install' procedure is different with them, IPS4 'things' are easier to install.

Regarding the 'forum root' this is the directory where the forum / community is installed. It is public_html if your community is just example . com for instance.

It is the directory with conf_global.php , init.php and index.php in it.

There is only one directory with conf_global.php in and that is the forum root regardless of where it is in the directory structure. :)

hello, I am new to IPS, am experinced with wordpress but have never had to fiddle around with the FTP like we have to do here.