Jump to content

Linked Accounts - Post As


Adriano Faria

Recommended Posts

1 hour ago, Adriano Faria said:

If you have linked accounts but you’re not using any at the moment, you have an option to create topics or reply to topics in a linked account behalf. If you’re logged in as a linked account then the topic or post will be authored by the linked account. 

Ok so this isn't a plugin I need?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...
  • 5 months later...

Hey @Paul E.,

I know you mentioned you couldn't provide ACP access for debugging, but were you able to try simply temporarily disabling Adriano's app and then manually running the process task for Account Deactivation and see if the error persists?

You can manually run the task by searching for "tasks":

image.png.36a1db1882a212f52d7e3fb0990e68de.png

Then in tasks, search for the process task,

image.thumb.png.c3219e6d32f31a3f31222651a1e0d768.png

If you get an error even with Adriano's application disabled, then it's likely something I need to address. If it only occurs when both are enabled, it's a conflict we'll figure out together.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, Makoto said:

Hey @Paul E.,

I know you mentioned you couldn't provide ACP access for debugging, but were you able to try simply temporarily disabling Adriano's app and then manually running the process task for Account Deactivation and see if the error persists?

You can manually run the task by searching for "tasks":

image.png.36a1db1882a212f52d7e3fb0990e68de.png

Then in tasks, search for the process task,

image.thumb.png.c3219e6d32f31a3f31222651a1e0d768.png

If you get an error even with Adriano's application disabled, then it's likely something I need to address. If it only occurs when both are enabled, it's a conflict we'll figure out together.

Hi @Makoto,

It doesn't happen every time the task runs--in fact, it often runs without issue. We can't disable Linked Accounts as we use it heavily--doing so would be rather disruptive to our production site. Running the task manually works just fine unless the process is locked. In those instances, unlocking the task and then running it works just fine.

We use cron to process tasks and we have a high volume site, so that there are messages involving guests is odd.

The process lock only appeared when we added the ability to delete accounts. Previously we were only using the deactivate option. We can temporarily disable the deletion option and see if the process lock goes away, yet as mentioned--it's not an issue on every hourly execution--only sometimes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ah, okay. I don't mean you need to disable it permanently, just for a brief moment while you run the task for testing, but if it only happens at random intervals it would probably be hard to reproduce anyways.

I'll try and see if I can maybe reproduce this locally.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 minutes ago, Makoto said:

You can manually run the task by searching for "tasks":

That's pointless with errors like https://invisioncommunity.com/forums/topic/451728-account-deactivation/?do=findComment&comment=2817404, they'll only appear once the task was executed by the CLI 😉

LOCATION_UNKNOWN

#0 /path/to/html/root/system/Member/Member.php(154): IPS\_Session::I()
...
#8 /path/to/html/root/applications/core/interface/task/task.php(56): IPS\_Task->runAndLog()

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 months later...
  • 1 month later...
  • 7 months later...
  • 1 month later...
  • 4 weeks later...

Hi there, I was wondering if there was a way to turn off the 30 minute time limit before switching back to the original account? My members love being able to link accounts but I have had feedback that being automatically switched mid-post has led to many incorrectly attributed posts and many therefore choose not to use the feature. I was just wondering if there was a way I could give them some certainty that the linked accounts will only switch when they choose? 

 

Thanks so much for your incredibly helpful products. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Macem said:

Hi there, I was wondering if there was a way to turn off the 30 minute time limit before switching back to the original account? My members love being able to link accounts but I have had feedback that being automatically switched mid-post has led to many incorrectly attributed posts and many therefore choose not to use the feature. I was just wondering if there was a way I could give them some certainty that the linked accounts will only switch when they choose? 

Hello,

This is handled by the Core. Not sure I can change that behavior. I didn’t take a look but I guess this is the session time, so if the user keeps using it, it won’t have a limit; if the user didn’t use it for the session time, it switches back to the main account. But that’s just a guess. It can be a cookie too  

Will take a look when I have to release a new version. 

Edited by Adriano Faria
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...