Retina Emoticons

AutoItScript

The new IPB4 looks great on a retina/HiDPI screen. Except for emoticons - it's like someone is sand papering my eyes :). Please consider adding some sort of support for retina emoticons. Even if it's just adding a customizable width/height to each emoticon so that you can use @2x assets and scale them down. Preferably be able to load @1x @2x assets and use the img srcset tag (for all browsers apart from IE, fallback to JS for that maybe). Anything!

As a proof of concept I wanted to come up with something for my 3.4.7 / soon-to-be-4.0 site that would allow me to use retina emoticons without modding the board at all so that if such support becomes available in a later version I wouldn't have issues on upgrade. This is my first attempt at a crazy solution - if anyone can think of a different approach then let me know as what I've done seems a little elaborate. The way the storage system works in IPB 4 (where emoticons can end up in monthly folders with GUIDs on the end) complicates a few of the ideas I had.

My first thought was to just upload @1x and @2x version of each emoticon and then use http://imulus.github.io/retinajs/ to rewrite the images for retina clients. The problems with this is:

• Forums can serve a lot of image assets, and the javascript would be checking for and receiving 404 errors for 95% of images on a page. Not really performance friendly for the client or my server.
  • If an emoticon is called "monthly_2015_04/my_emoticon.png.14229aa3222" then there is no easy way to upload the @2x version that would need be "monthly_2015_04/my_emoticon.png.14229aa3222" - sure you can manually upload it via ftp into the same foldert but it's going to get nuked the next time a "Remove Orphaned Attachments" task is run.

Without modding my board a javascript file still seems like a decent idea so I've modified retinajs with the following changes:

• Allowed it to work with filenames that can have a guid at the end