April 15, 2015 in Technical Problems
Is it a good practice to delete all the IPS 3.4.7 files except conf_global.php and uploads folder, before extracting IPS4 files and running the upgrade ?
I usually just overwrite the old 3.4.7 files with the new files. Has worked just fine so far!
Well removing old files which are not in use anymore is good. I over write on point releases and upon major releases like 2.x to 3.x and from 3.x to 4.x, I prefer clean up. In case of trojan attack or virus issues it becomes easier to compare what's wrong.
That's a good point. I might try doing exactly that when I upgrade next time.
Thanks for the feedback I deleted all IPB 3.4.7 files except :
Everything went well with the upgrade !
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.
Started Thursday at 01:08 PM
Started Tuesday at 02:33 AM
Started January 14