Community

Are web forums in general on the way out?

I've been running web forums for over ~12 years. I can recall when a forum community was considered new tech and was one of the best ways to facilitate a thriving web community. During 2005-2009 my web traffic was booming. Circa 2009 I noticed a decline that has grown worse year after year. Each year since 2009 I have lost traffic on every web forum that I own. I've read many theories suggesting that social networks are to blame. The advent of private groups etc. Which is somewhat full circle as forums started to boom when people wanted to expand beyond early private groups such as yahoo groups.

Now days a lot of people visit my forums and are immediately confused. They don't see the familiar social network endless feed and thus don't know what to do. Nested topics inside categories are not easily understood for some reason by the new generation.

I know we are all very excited about the release of IP4, however I wonder, are we embracing technology that is already passe? Is IP4 akin to having the latest and greatest buggy whip in the year 1928?

your thoughts please.

Edited by superj707

I had a long discussion with the developer of another script and they said pretty much - forums are dead.  Some complaints I've heard about my forum, "I wish this was more like Reddit (threaded discussion)."

Overall I think forums get a bad wrap.  Isn't it funny that you almost never hear any references to forums in media.  I can't remember the last time I heard Mashable, TechCrunch, etc. reference something that was posted in a forum.

I think, the niche is important, too. A "Minecraft" or a "tech" forum or a "photography-board" make no sense, anymore, now.

important can be the design and the language, maybe.

look at taringa.net - it grows every year (and have now 43.000.000 answer, more that 9.000.000 toipcs and now are 249.000 people online....)