IP4 a road to nowhere

GMIC

Is it me but each successive release seems to bring on more issues. In Beta I could convert from 3.4.7 on my test board with no major issues just a few bugs. Now from RC4 to RC6 I can't even convert the same board as the installation does not complete. I made a very BIG mistake in updating my live board at RC3 to find that the same board which ran fine under Beta has major issues with images not loading. I am now in a BAD place, support seems to be non existent and overnight the CKeditor simply stopped loading despite not having implemented any changes. So my board in effect is useless no images and no posting capability. Having run successive boards with IPB for over 10 years I am not a newbie at this game, but I think I fell victim to the frustration that has pervaded most of us on this long road. I got impatient and took the plunge far too early. Now I am regretting that and looking at rolling back to 3.4.7 and losing three weeks of posts and probably a few members in the process. 

I am going to be frank at the end of the day and I know that this is my own fault for being impatient.  But the lack of support from customer services, combined with the ridiculous time that this has taken IPB to develop this mess of a product had severly dented my confidence in their software. I only hope 4.0 doesn't turn out to be the Windows Vista for this company.

I completely agree with your sentiment. It's crazy how long IPB4 has taken - and it's still not finished! I've only updated one of my live forums to IPB4, and while there are many basic things that still doesn't work (like the profile photo cover) or is confusing (such as the post count) I really do enjoy using v4. It's such an improvement over IPB3 and it feels like IPS is slowly but surely going in the right direction. I just wished we had a stable version to use by now. :tongue: